Walking quietly behind the Shepherd in peace

April 1, 2013 womanafterhisheart

“I’m late, I’m late, for a very important date!” (said the White Rabbit from Alice in Wonderland). 

It seems that has been my refrain my entire life. Always rushing. Always running to the next “thing”. And rushing makes you tired. And rushing leaves you empty once you run to the next thing and find that it doesn’t fulfill you like you thought it would. Until recently, it was as if there was a motor inside of me, always pushing me to go go go! Or as if there was a monster behind me, snapping his jaws and cracking his whip- keeping me on the run. I see this in my children and my heart breaks. I see their need for approval- just like I had to have.  I see their desire for the next “thing”. Oh LORD, how I repent of my modeling this for them! 

The last six and a half months have been a lot of ups and downs and craziness, but through this, God got a hold of me and he released me from this drive for approval, for rushing, for the next “thing”! And I praise Him! He has set me free and is teaching my heart to wait before Him, and it is so refreshing. No more am I the sheep running ahead of Jesus shouting that I know where the best watering holes are! No more am I the child running, but having no idea where I’m going. For the first time ever in my life I am content to walk behind the Shepherd and follow in HIs footsteps quietly, going where He leads me. I want to shout! If you’ve never had the drive to do and go and be and then suddenly found rest, you won’t be able to understand, but it is peace like never before! My Father is caring for me and He knows the way and that’s all that matters. So I can be at peace.  And I am praying that soon so will my children. 

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

One Comment Add your own

  • 1. womanafterhisheart  |  April 1, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    And sometimes this sheep will dance in complete joy for Who the Shepherd is and what He has done for her 🙂 – but always BEHIND the Shepherd.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Blogroll

 
